SUPREME COURT OF INDIA

This file relates to the proposal for appointment of following six Additional Judges of the Patna High Court, as Permanent Judges of that High Court:

- 1. Mr. Justice Anil Kumar Upadhyay
- 2. Mr. Justice Rajeev Ranjan Prasad
- 3. Mr. Justice Sanjay Kumar
- 4. Mr. Justice Madhuresh Prasad
- 5. Mr. Justice Mohit Kumar Shah and
- 6. Mr. Justice Prakash Chandra Jaiswal

The Collegium of the Patna High Court <u>vide</u> Minutes dated 18th July, 2018 has unanimously recommended the above-named Additional Judges for appointment as Permanent Judges of that High Court. The above recommendation has the concurrence of the Government for the State of Bihar.

In order to ascertain suitability of the above-named Additional Judges for being appointed as Permanent Judges, we have consulted our colleagues who are conversant with the affairs of the Patna High Court. Copies of their letters of opinion received in this regard are placed below.

The Committee constituted in terms of the Resolution dated 26th October, 2017 of the Supreme Court Collegium to assess the Judgments of the above-named recommendees, has submitted its report. A copy of the report of the two-Judge Committee is placed below.

With a view to assess merit and suitability of the above-named recommendees for appointment as Permanent Judges, we have carefully scrutinized the material placed on record, including the complaints against some of the above-named recommendees and the observations made by the Department of Justice in the file. Having regard to the above, the Collegium finds Mr. Justices (1) Anil Kumar Upadhyay, (2) Rajeev Ranjan Prasad, (3) Sanjay Kumar, (4) Madhuresh Prasad, (5) Mohit Kumar Shah, and (6) Prakash Chandra Jaiswal, Additional Judges, suitable for being appointed as Permanent Judges.

In view of the above, the Collegium resolves to recommend that Mr. Justices (1) Anil Kumar Upadhyay, (2) Rajeev Ranjan Prasad, (3) Sanjay Kumar, (4) Madhuresh Prasad, (5) Mohit Kumar Shah, and (6) Prakash Chandra Jaiswal, Additional Judges, be appointed as Permanent Judges of the Patna High Court against the existing vacancies.

(Ranjan Gogoi), C.J.I.

(S.A.Bobde), J.

(N.V. Ramana), J.

March 11, 2019.